Yet another throttle body cleaning problem - - Infiniti G35 & G37 Forum Discussion | rupromenergo.ru
Show Your Support Become A Premier Member

> >
  • Reload this Page >
    • Yet another throttle body cleaning problem

Yet another throttle body cleaning problem

Old 01-31-2012, 07:01 AM
Yet another throttle body cleaning problem

Posted this in the DIY section w/no response, hoping for feedback here.
Count me in the Nissan victim for unenlightened throttle body cleaners. Over the last year I moved to Ohio and got two used G35X's (2007 & 2008). My 2007 just rolled over 100k so I decided to put in new plugs. To do so you have to remove the throttle body (to access coil pack under them) so I was able to clean them while off. I've cleaned throttle bodies for years w/no problems but this is my first time doing the infinity's. I did not unplug anything (including the negative battery terminal which in hindsight should have done since I was unplugging the coil pack). After putting it back together I have a high and surging idle. Reading thru most of the 27 pages of this forum, I went out and disconnected negative battery, and then went thru the complete relearn procedure. I don't have an SES light on; only the high and surging idle (between 1200-2200 up and down w/engine fully warm). My only problem in the relearn procedure is the step 4-6 in the ECU reset procedure:

When I release the accelerator pedal w/CEL blinking, it will stop on its own and go solid. Of course when I complete the process anyway and start it, I have no SES light on. So am I resetting this properly or not? Not clear that I even need to do this part if I don't have an SES light on, but the the throttle relearn says you have to do this first. When I do the throttle position learning at the end of the link above, I can do all those steps, but I still have the surge.